Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Data Engineering
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I export a result of a SQL query from a databricks notebook?

gianni77
New Contributor

The "Download CSV" button in the notebook seems to work only for results <=1000 entries. How can I export larger result-sets as CSV?

12 REPLIES 12

User16301467534
New Contributor II

Hi,

You can write the results back to S3 and download them from directly from S3. Our DB Guide notebooks should have a sample for you to look at. Please search for Download All SQL and you should see Scala and python examples.

It woul be really great if you could add a simple option to download a table in the "data" tab. As a data scientist, I can say this is a pretty basic part of the data science process -- for example if you are building documentation or whitepapers for a model, you will need samples of data, correlation matrices, etc.

Anonymous
Not applicable

You can also write to dbfs:/FileStore/download.csv, and then download by going to https://community.cloud.databricks.com/files/download.csv

jiaxuan
New Contributor II

Hi doug,

Can you provide more details on this? Not sure how to write to the filestore.

Thanks.

pepevo
New Contributor III

yes, would you please provide more in detail on this? the link is not working (HTTP ERROR: 404" thank you

Anonymous
Not applicable

To write to the filestore you'd do:

df.write.option("header", "true").csv("dbfs:/FileStore/download.csv") and then download from

https://community.cloud.databricks.com/files/download.csv

However, Databricks now has the feature to just click "Download" when displaying a result-set, which the other answers below also mention. It will download the first 1 million rows.

pepevo
New Contributor III

I have asked this question before since the link is broken.