twotwoiscute
New Contributor

I am confused by what's difference between running code using command

python3 CODENAME.py
and launch it by commend
pyspark
and start working on the code.

When I run the code :

spark = SparkSession.builder.config("spark.driver.memory", "16").appName("EDA").getOrCreate()

The first way

python3 CODENAME.py
raises the error even if I have already done

export JAVA_HOME=/usr/lib/jvm/java-8-openjdk-amd64
export SPARK_HOME=/home/twotwo/anaconda3/envs/yolov5/lib/python3.8/site-packages/pyspark
export PYTHONPATH=$SPARK_HOME/python:$SPARK_HOME/python/lib/py4j-0.10.9-src.zip:$PYTHONPATH
export PATH=$SPARK_HOME/python:$PATH

the error mseeage look like :

Exception: Java gateway process exited before sending its port number

However ,the second way runs the code without any problem , I would like to know what's the difference between these two ways.Thanks

2 REPLIES 2

Kaniz
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi @twotwoiscute​  ! My name is Kaniz, and I'm a technical moderator here. Great to meet you, and thanks for your question! Let's see if your peers on the Forum have an answer to your questions first. Or else I will follow up shortly with a response.

Kaniz
Community Manager
Community Manager

Using spark-submit and pyspark command you can run the spark statements, both these commands are available at $SPARK_HOME/bin directory and you will find two sets of these commands .sh files for Linux/macOS and .cmd files for windows.

If you are using EMR , there are three things

1.using pyspark(or spark-shell)

2.using spark-submit without using --master and --deploy-mode

3.using spark-submit and using --master and --deploy-mode

Although using all the above three will run the application in spark cluster, there is a difference how the driver program works.

In 1st and 2nd the driver will be in client mode whereas in 3rd the driver will also be in the cluster.