Data Engineering
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pyspark vs Pandas

pjp94
Contributor

Would like to better understand the advantage of writing a python notebook in pyspark vs pandas. Does the entire notebook need to be written in pyspark to realize the performance benefits. I currently have a script using pandas for all my transformations - can I just replace the 'inefficient' blocks to pyspark and keep the smaller/less costly transformations in pandas? Thanks!

13 REPLIES 13

cconnell
Contributor II

How do you know the pandas sections are less efficient?

I don't. This is moreso a hypothetical question. I do have a script where I'm using pandas, but I want to account for my dataset growing larger over time. If my runtime ends up taking minutes... then would I benefit from using pyspark instead? And if yes, can I just replace the high workload intensive tasks and keep everything else in pandas.... note: this is my first time in databricks so some of my assumptions may be off here. Please feel free to correct me if I'm wrong!

-werners-
Esteemed Contributor III

Ok, basically it comes down to this:

Pandas/Python is pretty good in data processing, as long as it can run on a single node.

If you do not have issues with processing your data on a single node, pandas is fine.

However, when you start getting OOM messages etc, it can be a good idea to look at pyspark.pandas.

Spark will use multiple nodes to process the data.

Of course this means you will have to rewrite code. But with the latest additions of databricks this will not be a daunting task, here is an interesting article:

https://databricks.com/blog/2021/10/04/pandas-api-on-upcoming-apache-spark-3-2.html

Besides that you can still use 'ordinary' pandas or python. But beware that this code will be executed on the driver only (so in single node mode).