cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Databricks Delta Table

JD2
Contributor

Hello:

I am new to databricks and need little help on Delta Table creation.

I am having great difficulty to understand creating of delta table and they are:-

1. Do I need to create S3 bucket for Delta Table? If YES then do I have to mount on the mountpoint?
  2. Do I need schema before creating table and can I ingest parquet file as per as per schema?
  3. I searched for step by step on databricks for delta table, but no luck.

Can you please help me on my above questions?

Thank you for your help & support.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

mathan_pillai
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hi Jay,

I would suggest to start with creating managed delta table. please run a simple command

CREATE TABLE events(id long) USING DELTA

This will create a managed delta table called "events"

Then perform

%sql describe extended events

The above command will show "location", where the data will be stored. This will be going to a default DBFS location.

This will give you an idea on how to create managed delta table and will tell you where the data is stored.

Thanks

Mathan

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

Kaniz
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi @ JayDAVE! My name is Kaniz, and I'm the technical moderator here. Great to meet you, and thanks for your question! Let's see if your peers in the community have an answer to your question first. Or else I will get back to you soon. Thanks.

-werners-
Esteemed Contributor III

you have 2 types of tables: managed and unmanaged. the managed ones store their data on the databricks storage account.

The unmanaged ones store the data somewhere else, your own data lake f.e.

If you use managed tables, the storage is already mounted, for unmanaged tables you have to mount the storage first.

https://docs.databricks.com/data/tables.html#managed-and-unmanaged-tables