cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Migrating DB from 7.3 LTS to 9.1 LTS

KC_1205
New Contributor III

Hi All,

I have a code in the dev and production using DB 7.3 LTS. Now, I would like to update the environment to 9.1 LTS as support is going to finish. I have gone through the documentation given in the following link.

https://docs.databricks.com/release-notes/runtime/9.1.html#new-features-and-improvements

As I am new to the process, I would like to understand what procedural precautions to be taken during the migration process.

Thank you in advance for the help.

Regards

Kiran

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Ravi
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
9 REPLIES 9

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @Kiran Chalasani​! My name is Piper, and I'm a moderator for Databricks. Welcome! It's nice to meet you!

Thanks for your question. We will give your peers a chance to respond and then we'll circle back if we need to.

KC_1205
New Contributor III

Hi Piper

Thank you for welcoming me.

Ravi
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

@Kiran Chalasani​ You can start with the DBR 9.1 LTS migration guide and Apache Spark 3.1.2 migration guide.

https://docs.databricks.com/release-notes/runtime/9.1-migration.html#databricks-runtime-91-lts-migra...

https://spark.apache.org/docs/3.1.2/migration-guide.html

KC_1205
New Contributor III

Hi Ravi,

Thanks for the reply with the useful links. Correct me if I am wrong. I am thinking to create a new cluster and attach the job to it. During this process I will be choosing the new 9.1 LTS and it automatically picks up the Spark 3.1.2. and new Python 3.8.8 environment. Then run the code in dev to check the potential errors and fix them. is that right? or anything different?

Thanks in adavnce.

Kiran

Ravi
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

@Kiran Chalasani​ Yes, that is the right approach. Always test in dev before moving the changes in prod!

KC_1205
New Contributor III

Thank you Ravi.

KC_1205