Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Data Engineering
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is there any way to propagate errors from dbutils?

cvantassel
New Contributor III

I have a master notebook that runs a few different notebooks on a schedule using the dbutils.notebook.run() function. Occasionally, these child notebooks will fail (due to API connections or whatever). My issue is, when I attempt to catch the errors with:

try:
    dbutils.notebook.run(notebook_path, timeout_seconds=0)
except Exception as e:
    print(e)

The error is always the same regardless of the notebook/failure point:

An error occurred while calling o8701._run.\n: com.databricks.WorkflowException: com.databricks.NotebookExecutionException: FAILED\n\tat com.databricks.workflow.WorkflowDriver.run(WorkflowDriver.scala:98)\n\tat com.databricks.dbutils_v1.impl.NotebookUtilsImpl.run(NotebookUtilsImpl.scala:134)\n\tat com.databricks.dbutils_v1.impl.NotebookUtilsImpl._run(NotebookUtilsImpl.scala:96)\n\tat sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)\n\tat sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:62)\n\tat sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)\n\tat java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:498)\n\tat py4j.reflection.MethodInvoker.invoke(MethodInvoker.java:244)\n\tat py4j.reflection.ReflectionEngine.invoke(ReflectionEngine.java:380)\n\tat py4j.Gateway.invoke(Gateway.java:295)\n\tat py4j.commands.AbstractCommand.invokeMethod(AbstractCommand.java:132)\n\tat py4j.commands.CallCommand.execute(CallCommand.java:79)\n\tat py4j.GatewayConnection.run(GatewayConnection.java:251)\n\tat java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:748)\nCaused by: com.databricks.NotebookExecutionException: FAILED\n\tat com.databricks.workflow.WorkflowDriver.run0(WorkflowDriver.scala:146)\n\tat com.databricks.workflow.WorkflowDriver.run(WorkflowDriver.scala:93)\n\t... 13 more\n