Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Data Engineering
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do you correctly access the spark context in DLT pipelines?

KateK
New Contributor II

I have some code that uses RDDs, and the sc.parallelize() and rdd.toDF() methods to get a dataframe back out. The code works in a regular notebook (and if I run the notebook as a job) but fails if I do the same thing in a DLT pipeline. The error message varies on how I try to access the spark context, but I usually get Value Error RDD is empty

I've tried a few different ways to access spark context in a DLT pipeline but none of them seem to work. I'm also new to spark, so I'm maybe just not googling the right terms -- it would be great if someone could point me in the right direction!

I'm attaching two dbc notebooks, the first one creates some fake data, reads it in and does the RDD operation I want to do. The second notebook is a DLT pipeline, it reads in the fake data and tries a few different ways to access spark context and do the RDD operation. The error messages I get with each method are noted.

3 REPLIES 3

alexott
Valued Contributor II
Valued Contributor II

DLT calls your functions several times - with empty dataframe when building the execution graph, and than with actual data when executing the pipeline.

But really, I believe that you can do what you want using the Dataframe APIs, in the worst case - resort to the Pandas UDFs, but you need to provide a description of what do you want to achieve. The reason for that is that RDD implementation will be very slow as each row is evaluated in the Python interpreter and Catalyst won't be able to perform any optimization

Kaniz
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi @Katayun Kamdin​, We haven’t heard from you on the last response from @Alex Ott​, and I was checking back to see if his suggestions helped you.