Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Data Engineering
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Create and update a csv/json file in ADLSG2 with Eventhub in Databricks streaming

Aran_Oribu
New Contributor II

Hello ,

This is my first post here and I am a total beginner with DataBricks and spark.

Working on an IoT Cloud project with azure , I'm looking to set up a continuous stream processing of data.

A current architecture already exists thanks to Stream Analytics which redirects our data to the data lake in json and csv format updated continuously.

But data aggregation is limited with stream analytic and the integration of machine learning is to be considered for the future.

That's why I've been looking at Databricks for a week but I'm stuck on several points and I can't find an answer.

I managed to connect Databricks to an IoT Hub data sending simulation and to send it to blob with the pyspark script below which is incomplete I think. The problem is that each event will create a file, and the format that is used will create multiple parquet files. 

My question is "is it possible to do the same thing that Stream Analytics is currently doing with databricks"?

I know that there is a lot of parameters to specify when creating the write request but none of them work, I have multiple errors probably because I'm doing it wrong. If someone could give me some good practice advice or redirect me to appropriate documentation it would be really appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

-werners-
Esteemed Contributor III

You could use another format like csv and json, but I avoid using them as parquet (and delta lake) have nice features like a schema, partitioning, metadata.

Instead of directly reading iot Hub, you could first land the data from iot Hub into a data lake or blob storage (I think using a storage endpoint, not sure). And then afterwards read this data with databricks and process it.