cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error when importing PyDeequ package

hf_santos
New Contributor III

Hi everyone,

I want to do some tests regarding data quality and for that I pretend to use PyDeequ on a databricks notebook. Keep in mind that I'm very new to databricks and Spark.

First I created a cluster with the Runtime version "10.4 LTS (includes Apache Spark 3.2.1, Scala 2.12)" and added to the environment variable

SPARK_VERSION=3.2

as referred in the repository's GitHub.

Since the available PyPI package is not up to date I tried installing the package through a notebook-scoped library with the following comand

%pip install numpy==1.22
%pip install git+https://github.com/awslabs/python-deequ.git

(The first line is only to prevent a conflict on the numpy versions.)

Then, when doing

import pydeequ

I get

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
IndexError                                Traceback (most recent call last)
<command-3386600260354339> in <module>
----> 1 import pydeequ

/databricks/python_shell/dbruntime/PythonPackageImportsInstrumentation/__init__.py in import_patch(name, globals, locals, fromlist, level)
    165             # Import the desired module. If you’re seeing this while debugging a failed import,
    166             # look at preceding stack frames for relevant error information.
--> 167             original_result = python_builtin_import(name, globals, locals, fromlist, level)
    169             is_root_import = thread_local._nest_level == 1

/local_disk0/.ephemeral_nfs/envs/pythonEnv-5ccb9322-9b7e-4caf-b370-843c10304472/lib/python3.8/site-packages/pydeequ/__init__.py in <module>
     19 from pydeequ.analyzers import AnalysisRunner
     20 from pydeequ.checks import Check, CheckLevel
---> 21 from pydeequ.configs import DEEQU_MAVEN_COORD
     22 from pydeequ.profiles import ColumnProfilerRunner