Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Data Engineering
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Large MERGE Statements - 500+ lines of code!

StevenW
New Contributor III

I'm new to databricks. (Not new to DB's - 10+ year DB Developer).

How do you generate a MERGE statement in DataBricks? 

Trying to manually maintain a 500+ or 1000+ lines in a MERGE statement doesn't make much sense? Working with Large Tables of between 200 - 500 columns.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

-werners-
Esteemed Contributor III

don't know about order.

However, I always prepare the incoming data so that it has the same schema as the target. This makes merges easy. You indeed do not want to tinker around in a merge statement and typing tons of columns.

Using scala/python it is practically always possible to prepare your data.

Takes some time to learn, but it is worth it.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

Hubert-Dudek
Esteemed Contributor III

In my opinion, when possible MERGE statement should be on the primary key. If not possible you can create your own unique key (by concatenate some fields and eventually hashing them) and then use it in merge logic.

StevenW
New Contributor III

Thanks.. but that's not really what I'm asking...

How many columns can a MERGE statement manage, before maintenance becomes a nightmare?

Hubert-Dudek
Esteemed Contributor III

It was tested with up to 4000 columns. Here are tests up to 1000 columns after the update in December 2021 https://github.com/delta-io/delta/pull/584

Also, remember that stats are precalculated for the first 32 columns (you can change it to more in settings). So it would be good to have fields on which you merge conditions in the first 32 columns.

image.png 

StevenW
New Contributor III

Interesting...I had not yet considered the performance issues. I didn't think there would be any .. will clearly need to come back to this one... 🙂