Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Data Engineering
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to upload large files to Databricks? and how to unzip files successfully?

Sagacious
New Contributor II

I have two JSON files, one ~3 gb and one ~5 gb. I am unable to upload them to databricks community edition as they exceed the max allowed up-loadable file size (~2 gb).

If I zip them I am able to upload them, but I am also having issues figuring out how to unzip the files into a readable format, currently it's only outputting unreadable characters in the import preview.

I'm relatively new to Databricks, just using it for a SQL certification, so I'd like to import the JSON into a query-able table.

Thanks.

5 REPLIES 5

Aviral-Bhardwaj
Esteemed Contributor III

@Sage Olson​  instead of uploading in databricks you can use any cloud provider and dump your data there and then read file from using databricks , it is safe

Debayan
Esteemed Contributor III
Esteemed Contributor III

Hi, You can create a notebook inside a Databricks cluster and unzip the files using linux commands in the notebook, please refer: https://docs.databricks.com/notebooks/notebooks-code.html

Also, while after entering the command, please run the notebook in PYTHON mode and start the notebook cell with %sh which will pick up the commands as shell commands and unzip the file.

For unzipping you can refer to : https://docs.databricks.com/files/unzip-files.html and https://community.databricks.com/s/question/0D58Y00009az9bGSAQ/unzip-files .

Sagacious
New Contributor II

Thanks for your kind response. I've already found the article on shell commands and the unzipping information, however I just don't have the python background yet to set this up with just the documentation to go off of.