Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Data Engineering
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Delta Live Tables: bulk import of historical data?

sarguido
New Contributor II

Hello! I'm very new to working with Delta Live Tables and I'm having some issues. I'm trying to import a large amount of historical data into DLT. However letting the DLT pipeline run forever doesn't work with the database we're trying to import from - despite connection parameters being set, there are still timeout issues.

I'm trying to solve the problem by bulk importing historical data in a one time transfer into Delta Lake, and then converting those tables to DLT using the CONVERT TO DELTA sql statement. However, when I try to hook up my pipeline to those tables, I get an error: Could not materialize 'schema.table_name' because a MANAGED table already exists with that name. The table already exists because I want to seed it with a large amount of historical data. Is there a way to make this work? Do I need to change some configuration somewhere?

Another alternative I thought of was importing everything into Delta Lake and then doing a join or union somewhere in the DLT pipeline, but then I'll need to hard code in the date that I want DLT to start ingesting data at (since the rest of the data will already exist in Delta Lake).

An additional alternative could be just maxing out compute and using photon acceleration for the initial import. Perhaps that is what I should be doing here instead?

Looking for some input from experts/folks with lots of DLT experience with regard to best practices. Thanks for reading!

4 REPLIES 4

Anonymous
Not applicable

@Sarah Guido​ :