Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Data Governance
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am new to Data bricks. Setting up Data bricks Unity Catalog, in terms of best practice i have few questions.

Avvar2022
New Contributor III

1. Is it best practice to separate unity catalog meta store ADLS Gen2 separate from ADLS Gen 2 to store data ?
  2. Since per region only one meta store can be created, will there be a separate meta store for PROD, and NON-PROD(QA and DEV)? If yes they need to be separate region.
  3. My understanding is one meta store can be configured to one ADLS Gen2 > 1 container. this means all environments using this 1 container ? in multi subscription environment where should storage account should be hosted.

Thank you in advance for your help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Anonymous
Not applicable

@Ashok Zubrewar​  Please find the answers inline

• Is it best practice to separate unity catalog meta store ADLS Gen2 separate from ADLS Gen 2 to store data ?
    • Though it's not mandatory, but it's better to separate UC ADLS path from other data to avoid management overhead.
  • Since per region only one meta store can be created, will there be a separate meta store for PROD, and NON-PROD(QA and DEV)? If yes they need to be separate region.
    • There is no need to create separate metastore for each environment but isolate the environment by having a managed location for each catalog. What I mean is, create DEV catalog with managed location (separate container) and create catalogs for other environments with different container as the managed location. Thus data of each environment is isolated. Please refer to below doc on the same.

https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/databricks/data-governance/unity-catalog/create-metastore