Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Data Engineering
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My 'Data' menu item shows 'No Options' for Databases. How can I fix?

System1999
New Contributor III

Hi, I'm new to Databricks and I've signed up for the Community edition.

First, I've noticed that I cannot return to a previously created cluster, as I get the message telling me that restarting a cluster is not available to me. Ok, inconvenient, but I can create a new cluster.

However, on the new cluster, when I click the 'Data' menu item, I see an error message that the cluster does not exist (presumably this is the original cluster that I deleted because I cannot restart it). I have tried the 'Databases' dropdown, but this returns that there are 'No Options'. (See screenshot.)

error 

I think I need to attach to the new cluster somehow. If I create a new notebook and run 'Show Databases', then it succesfully lists the Default database. I can also Create a table from an external CSV, and then query the table. But I would like to fix the menu problem.

Can anyone please advise?

Thanks.

7 REPLIES 7

Debayan
Esteemed Contributor III
Esteemed Contributor III

Hi, could you please clean cookies and caches in your browser and try again?

Please let us know if this helps. 

Also, please tag @Debayan​ with your next response so that I will be notified. Thanks!

System1999
New Contributor III

Hi ​@Debayan Mukherjee​ ,

I cleared the cookies and cache and this fixed the issue. Thanks.

As an aside, is it normal behaviour that a cluster cannot be restarted in Community edition? 

Thanks again.

Hi @Debayan Mukherjee​ ,

Although the issue was fixed by clearing cookies/cache, the next day I logged onto Databricks community edition and I had the same problem. So, this solution does not seem to be practical for me. Have you any other ideas?

Debayan
Esteemed Contributor III
Esteemed Contributor III