cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Delta table cannot reach into info from previous table in the pipeline

anasse
New Contributor II

Hello

I am new to the databricks usage. I am trying to create some complex transformation in a delta table pipeline.

I have some table that are on streaming mode to collect data from an S3 then the silver layer to start the transformation but it seems to me like if the gold layer is starting before the end of the silver and so all my gold table are empty and i need to refresh them independently ...

Is there someting i am missing in the process ?

Thank you for your help

1 REPLY 1

Kaniz
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi @Anasse Berahab​, You might be experiencing a synchronization issue between your silver and gold layers in your Delta Lake pipeline. To address this, you can use trigger and awaitTermination options to control the execution of your streaming queries.

Here's a general outline to help you set up the pipeline correctly:

1. Read data from the source (e.g., S3) and write it to the bronze layer.
  2. Transform the data in the bronze layer and write it in the silver layer.
  3. Transform the data in the silver layer and write it in the gold layer.

To ensure that the gold layer transformation starts only after the silver layer transformation is complete, you can follow these steps:

1. Start the streaming query for the silver layer transformation using write streams and specify a trigger to control the frequency at which the processing will be executed.

For example:

silver_streaming_query = (
    bronze_df
    .transform(silver_transform)
    .writeStream
    .format("delta")
    .outputMode("append")
    .option("checkpointLocation", "/path/to/silver/checkpoint")
    .trigger(processingTime="5 minutes")
    .start("/path/to/silver/output")
)