Patrycjusz Sienkiewicz - @Pat Sienkiewicz​ 

Community nickname: Pat

Pronouns: He/Him

Job Title: Data Engineer

Databricks Certifications Completed:

Databricks Certified Data Engineer Professional

Databricks Certified Associate Developer for Apache Spark 3.0

Academy Accreditation - Databricks Lakehouse Fundamentals

Could you give a brief description of your professional journey to date?

A. In my years as a student, I got interested in data and started out by interning as an ETL Developer. I have spent my career working with Data Warehouses. In 2015, I learnt about Spark and I've been doing a lot of work in the Big Data/ Hadoop field. In 2017, I transitioned to Apache Spark - on-prem/ AWS Glue/ AWS EMR/ Databricks. I still remember the very first version used; a delta of 0.4.0 with Spark on-prem.

What is your favorite thing about your current job/ role?

A. I've been able to take all that I've learnt throughout my career and apply it in my new role. I had a chance to work on designing solution architecture, data modeling, coding infrastructure, and following best practices with all the newest features.

What are three words your coworkers would use to describe you?

A. Reliable, Fun, and Hard-working

When, and why did you start using Databricks?

A. My first experience with Databricks was in 2019. I was involved in a proof of concept for migrating a Scala Spark application from Hadoop to Databricks. It was a long time ago, but when I had the chance to work with Databricks again in October 2021, I was impressed by how it had changed.

We have been using Databricks to build a multi-region/ multi-tenant solution. It's been challenging, but I've learnt a lot as I use it. Trying to keep up-to-date with all the features with recent changes. I’d like to thank the Community for all the help received and encouraged me to contribute back.

What were some of the things that impressed you? Or stood out to you when you used Databricks again in 2021?