cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Data Engineering
Join discussions on data engineering best practices, architectures, and optimization strategies within the Databricks Community. Exchange insights and solutions with fellow data engineers.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

For dummies: How to avoid 'bill shock' & control AWS charges while learning to use Databricks?

hantha
New Contributor

Hi, I'm an out-of-work data analyst wanting to re-skill as a 'citizen data engineer'.  By following how-to guides I was able to set up my own Databricks account etc along with a personal VPC in AWS. After 2 weeks of problem-free training I checked my month-to-date billing info in AWS. The "NAT Gateway Hour" cost (337 hours!) is the 2nd largest cost item but seems rather unnecessary, given how everything I need is co-located in the same AWS regional data center (Sydney). What would be the likely impact on my Databricks training experience supposing I just delete my NAT gateway? Or is that billing item just included as a notional charge, one of several that will be waived by AWS provided I stay within the 'free tier' limits? (The AWS invoice status is "pending" so I guess I'll find out soon enough 🙂  

2 REPLIES 2

holly
Valued Contributor II
Valued Contributor II

Hi Hantha

• Databricks needs VPCs to work, but there are the default ones and customer managed ones: https://docs.databricks.com/en/security/network/classic/customer-managed-vpc.html
  • Customer managed ones are optional, but many tutorials include them as that's standard security for lots of companies. I have made the mistake of this and cost Databricks $1200 🤡
  • If you start deleting your network pieces, it'll delete things associated with it 
  • Recommendation: take a look at the docs linked. If it looks like you set up a managed one, you'll have to recreate everything with the default in a new Databricks workspace (sorry)