Deleted Workspace leaves greyed out catalog

ihenadb
New Contributor III

Hi,

In our Azure tenant We have deleted a Unity Catalog registered workspace and ticked the Delete default workspace storage permanently

There are 2 catalogs that were created in that workspace that are now greyed out in the catalog explorer when access in another workspace .

In the catalog explorer there is now no workspace tab associated with these catalog, and it is not possible to change the ownership. In addition running (as metastore admin)  SHOW CATALOGS; Does not return/list the catalogs.

Any ideas on how these can be removed / deleted ?

Thanks

 

 

Walter_C
Databricks Employee
Databricks Employee

Hello, thanks for reaching out, on this case you could try to delete the catalogs using the CLI command:

databricks unity-catalog catalogs delete --name my-catalog


For this you will need to be a Metastore admin.

Stefan-Koch
Databricks Partner

also try with the fore flag:

databricks unity-catalog catalogs delete --name my-catalog --force

View solution in original post

ihenadb
New Contributor III

 

databricks catalogs delete --name my-catalog --force

 

Thanks for the help ! Needed the force as the catalog was not empty. Also required a change of ownership of catalog to metastore owner.