Uma Maheswara Rao D - @UmaMahesh​ 

Community nickname: UmaMahesh

Pronouns: He/Him

Company: Maersk

Job Title: Associate Data Engineer

Databricks Certifications Completed:

Databricks Certified Data Engineer Associate

Academy Accreditation - Databricks Lakehouse Fundamentals

Could you give a brief description of your professional journey to date? 

I graduated in 2019 and joined a reputed firm as a Data Engineer where I was fortunate enough to work with one of the largest supply chain companies as a client. I often had to work with Databricks and Azure Cloud services, which occupied most of my daily work activities. After 2 years, in 2021, I switched to my current organization where I started to work with the data from the biggest shipping company. Here, I was working with the Service Delivery Team where our use case is to provide organizational insights to improve the customer satisfaction by reducing the transportation delays, determining better optimized routes, ports etc. Generally, my work involves using ADB, ADF & other Azure services, Visualization tools like PowerBI and cube modeling.

What is your favorite thing about your current job/role? 

In my role as a Data Engineer, I have the opportunity to work with a large amount of data to build features that business users can use to make decisions/ analyze data.

Doing so, there would also be ample learning opportunities to further improve the existing datasets/ reports by working on the challenges/ shortcomings of data limitations, data quality etc.

What are three words your coworkers would use to describe you?

Fun, Reliable and Adaptable.

Do you have any mentors in your professional life?