cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Data Engineering
Join discussions on data engineering best practices, architectures, and optimization strategies within the Databricks Community. Exchange insights and solutions with fellow data engineers.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error when importing PyDeequ package

hf_santos
New Contributor III

Hi everyone,

I want to do some tests regarding data quality and for that I pretend to use PyDeequ on a databricks notebook. Keep in mind that I'm very new to databricks and Spark.

First I created a cluster with the Runtime version "10.4 LTS (includes Apache Spark 3.2.1, Scala 2.12)" and added to the environment variable

SPARK_VERSION=3.2

as referred in the repository's GitHub.

Since the available PyPI package is not up to date I tried installing the package through a notebook-scoped library with the following comand

%pip install numpy==1.22
%pip install git+https://github.com/awslabs/python-deequ.git

(The first line is only to prevent a conflict on the numpy versions.)

Then, when doing

import pydeequ

I get

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
IndexError                                Traceback (most recent call last)
<command-3386600260354339> in <module>
----> 1 import pydeequ

/databricks/python_shell/dbruntime/PythonPackageImportsInstrumentation/__init__.py in import_patch(name, globals, locals, fromlist, level)
    165             # Import the desired module. If you’re seeing this while debugging a failed import,
    166             # look at preceding stack frames for relevant error information.
--> 167             original_result = python_builtin_import(name, globals, locals, fromlist, level)
    169             is_root_import = thread_local._nest_level == 1

/local_disk0/.ephemeral_nfs/envs/pythonEnv-5ccb9322-9b7e-4caf-b370-843c10304472/lib/python3.8/site-packages/pydeequ/__init__.py in <module>