Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 
Data Engineering
cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Hi Experts i am new to data bricks and i want to know how data bricks supports real time reporting needs in Business intelligence?

BasavarajAngadi
Contributor

Delta lake have 3 levels to maintain data quality ( bronze , silver and gold tables ) but this supports the reporting and 

BI solutions how does this supports the streaming analytics ?

example : I have an app that loads all the operational data in adls gen 2 and i want use this data which will help me to support real time  reporting needs and also i need to build a report with all the historical data stored in ADLS gen 2.

So For this do i need to store data into two different container of ADLS gen2 ? one container will have all history data and other will store   day of data to support real time reporting ?  and for above requirement i want make use of same spark cluster to support both real time reporting needs as well has descriptive analytics with all history data.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

-werners-
Esteemed Contributor III

You certainly can connect BI tools to the 'classic' clusters. That works fine, but databricks SQL is optimized for fast read queries (Analytics tools) . So you will get better performance.

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12

-werners-
Esteemed Contributor III

delta lake does not has levels. The bronze/silver/gold is a concept to structure the data lake.

You do not need a separate ADLS container, I would even advice against it. Why? Well, you have to ingest the data anyway, so it's best to do this only once (one container). Within a single container you can structure the data any way you want. It does not have to be bronze/silver/gold but can be anything that works for you/your company. I do suggest to foresee some kind of structure, it will help you in the long run.