Data Engineering
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Incremental load from source; how to handle deletes

_TJ
New Contributor III
Small introduction; I'm a BI/Data developer, mostly working in MSSQL & DataFactory, coming from SSIS. Now I'm trying Databricks, to see if it works for me and my customers. I got enthusiastic by the video; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PIFL7W3DmaY&t=4652s, now I'm on the waiting list for streaming tables and materialized views. My apologies for probably some newbe questions, but sometimes it's hard to find the right works to search:)

I'm building a simplified PoC, with Sales Order Lines for an ERP system.

I'm loading parquet files in Azure ADLS, structure:

- Source system
-->Table (Orderlines)

---->Delta
------>2024-02-02
------>2024-02-03
---->Full
------>2024-02-01

Mostly once a week a full load, daily incremental. 
I was planning to use a STREAMING TABLE with APPLY_CHANGES to load the data. Now I'm wondering how to configure the 'merge/upsert' part, in the following two scenarios; we can do an incremental load from the source system in two ways: by date (fetch all order lines from the last 5 days) or by ID (fetch all order lines for the order IDs that have been changed the last 5 days). The problem lies in how to handle deletes in the source system. 

For the first case, it must delete all records after the given dates, that are not presented in the incremental load
For the second case, it must delete all records from the order IDs that are loaded in the incremental load but do not exist anymore.

Currently, in SQL we do this, with a bit of pseudo-code, but I hope you get the idea.

Case 1 - By date:

SELECT @date = MIN(Date) FROM Source
DELETE FROM Target WHERE Date > @date
INSERT INTO Target SELECT * FROM Source

Case 2 = By id

DELETE FROM Target WHERE ID IN (SELECT ID from Source)
INSERT INTO Target SELECT * FROM Source

Target stays up-to-date, and records that have been removed are deleted.