cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Data Engineering
Join discussions on data engineering best practices, architectures, and optimization strategies within the Databricks Community. Exchange insights and solutions with fellow data engineers.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Queries regarding workspace Migration to Premium

Soma
Valued Contributor

We are planning to migrate from standard to premium workspace

We need to know if below artifacts will be maintained

need to check on streaming Job Downtime

Access token

DBFS Access

Production Cluster /Jobs

Cluster ID Job ID and other properties like URL which will be used in Azure Data Factory

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Kaniz
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi @somanath Sankaran​ , Notebooks, users, and cluster configurations are retained when you upgrade or downgrade a workspace, but active clusters might be terminated.

To upgrade or downgrade the Azure Databricks workspace pricing option in the Azure portal, use the same procedure that you use to create new Databricks workspaces.

If a Standard workspace already exists, re-create it as a Premium workspace with the same parameters that were used for the Standard workspace:

  • Subscription
  • Resource Group
  • Workspace name
  • Location

Source

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello @somanath Sankaran​ - Thanks for coming to the community with your question and welcome! We will give our awesome community members a while longer to answer your question before we circle back around. Thanks!

Kaniz
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi @somanath Sankaran​ , Notebooks, users, and cluster configurations are retained when you upgrade or downgrade a workspace, but active clusters might be terminated.

To upgrade or downgrade the Azure Databricks workspace pricing option in the Azure portal, use the same procedure that you use to create new Databricks workspaces.

If a Standard workspace already exists, re-create it as a Premium workspace with the same parameters that were used for the Standard workspace:

  • Subscription
  • Resource Group
  • Workspace name
  • Location

Source

Soma
Valued Contributor

hi @Kaniz Fatma​ 

Any impact on external Metastore if we change from std to premium

Soma
Valued Contributor

Any config change we need to add

Kaniz
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi @somanath Sankaran​ ,  

Note:-

Notebooks, users, and cluster configurations are retained when you upgrade or downgrade a workspace, but active clusters might be terminated.

Soma
Valued Contributor

hi @Kaniz Fatma​  then I can assume there wont be any impact on metastore and all the metadata(table definition,schema ) will be available post upgradation

Kaniz
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi @somanath Sankaran​ , Yeah, as per the documentation.

Join 100K+ Data Experts: Register Now & Grow with Us!

Excited to expand your horizons with us? Click here to Register and begin your journey to success!

Already a member? Login and join your local regional user group! If there isn’t one near you, fill out this form and we’ll create one for you to join!