Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Data Engineering
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Consume updated data from the Materialized view and send it as append to a streaming table

WearBeard
New Contributor

Hello everyone! I'm using DLT and I'm pretty new to them. I'm trying to take the updates from a materialized view and send them to a streaming table as an append.
For example, if I have a MV of 400 records, I want an append to be made to the streaming table and when the view is updated again, an append to the streaming table is made again, always having a total of 400 in the MV and the streaming rate increases, in this case it would reach 800 for the two MV updates.

I'm currently trying to do it and I have this error:

Flow 'streaming_table_test' has FAILED fatally. An error occurred because we detected an update or delete to one or more rows in the source table. Streaming tables may only use append-only streaming sources. If you expect to delete or update rows to the source table in the future, please convert table streaming_table_test to a live table instead of a streaming live table. To resolve this issue, perform a Full Refresh to table streaming_table_test. A Full Refresh will attempt to clear all data from table kafka_events and then load all data from the streaming source. The non-append change can be found at version 5192. 

1 REPLY 1

Priyanka_Biswas
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hi @WearBeard By default, streaming tables require append-only sources. The encountered error is due to an update or delete operation on the 'streaming_table_test'. To fix this issue, perform a Full Refresh on the 'streaming_table_test' table.

You can use the @append_flow decorator to write to a streaming table from multiple streaming sources to do the following: