cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Databricks Vs ADLS for reporting.

Learnit
New Contributor II
Hi everyone,

I'm a business analyst currently facing a decision on how best to develop a report. I need to choose between using Databricks or Azure Data Lake Storage (ADLS) as the data source on the transformed data in csv or excel file format from databricks into ADLS. My main concern is about the capability to write SQL queries, especially since I've heard that it might not be possible with ADLS. Our IT team is suggesting we use ADLS for this task.

Could anyone share insights on:
The pros and cons of using Databricks compared to ADLS for report generation?
 If using Databricks, does the cluster need to be up all the time for report refreshing?
 What are the best practices for setting this up?

Any advice or experiences shared would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in Advance
2 REPLIES 2

Palash01
Contributor III

Hey @Learnit 

I'd be glad to help, thanks for posting your concern. To offer the most effective advice, I might need some additional context about your specific situation as looks like your use case is to create reports (dahboards) using local CSV/excel files which can be done in different way as well but as you've asked the question around ADLS and Databricks I will answer it first then will mention my personal alternates to this condition. I hope this can help you choose a best solution for your situation:

1. SQL Capabilities:

• ADLS: Azure Data Lake Storage (ADLS) is a cloud-based data storage which is designed to store large-scale heterogenous data you can imagine ADLS as a windows file explorer folder or google drive in layman terms. As said it is a storage service it doesn't directly support SQL queries, though you can use service such as Azure Synapse Analytics which is fully managed data warehousing service that seamlessly integrates with ADLS, offering SQL querying and advanced analytics capabilities.