Machine Learning
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAP engineer wants to convert

philnally
New Contributor II

I am looking for direction and input: I am an SAP data architect, with around 20 years of expossure to the data model itself, plus I’ve installed the SAP Data Warehouse some 6, or 7 times. I am certified in SAP’s newest analytics Tool, SAP Analytics Cloud. And separately I’ve created a library full of SQL scripts to access and display various clients’  SAP data needs. I see the world from within the monastery.

Ant here is what I am contemplating – I would like to jump into the Databricks pool, and aim for ‘Databricks Engineer’ certification.

I see SAP as a data machine, and databricks as an engineering machine, so with the recent Datasphere + Databricks connection (not an engagement yet) I see a great potential, so some constructive criticism would be appreciated.

Just to show I’m not completely green, I have been playing with Python on and off for several years, and I also have Jupyter Notebook set up a couple of years ago with some 20 projects. Separately, I have some Machine Learning, mainly time series, understanding.

Am I crazy? I’d appreciate any comments, or input. Is there a perception that the SAP + Databricks connection is great? What do you think?

3 REPLIES 3

Anonymous
Not applicable

@Michael McNally​ :

Based on your experience and knowledge, I am thrilled to let you know that you have a strong foundation in data architecture and analytics within the SAP ecosystem. Moving towards Databricks and pursuing a Databricks Engineer certification could be a good way to expand your skillset and explore new opportunities.

Databricks is a popular platform for big data processing and analytics, and there is a growing demand for engineers with experience in Databricks. Your experience with Python and Jupyter Notebook will be a valuable asset as well. The learning curve wont be steep.

-werners-
Esteemed Contributor III