Machine Learning
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using AutoML to predict completion dates of a project management dataset

ProtonMix
New Contributor II

Hello! I am fairly new to Databricks. I'm trying to do a proof of concept with AutoML in Databricks at my organization, and the dataset I am using is a project management dataset. Here's a sample:

project_idmarketgeneral_contractorproject_typepermit_datepermit_statusconstruction_dateconstruction_statuscompletion_datecompletion_status
project_1NYacme increhab2/1/2024complete3/1/2024projected4/1/2024projected
project_2LAxyz incbuild to suit1/1/2020complete2/2/2023complete3/4/2023complete

So based on this dataset, I want to be able to see how I can reduce completion_date period. For example, if I use acme inc in LA, will that reduce my completion date and if so, by how much? or for example if I reduce my permit_date by 2 days, how big of an impact will it have on completion_date? Of course I only have to rely on historical data so all the status fields must be set to "complete".

How do I go about doing this? Also, is there a way to output the result in a way for stakeholder to analyze, using a visual tool like tableau or powerbi?

Thanks!

2 REPLIES 2

Kaniz
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi @ProtonMix, Let’s break down your requirements and tackle them step by step.

1. Reducing Completion Date Period:

• To understand how different factors impact the completion date, you can use regression analysis. Specifically, you want to predict the completion date based on other features like market, general contractor, and permit date.
    • Since you’re interested in historical data, filter your dataset to include only records with a “complete” status for all relevant fields (permit, construction, and completion).
    • Create a new feature that represents the time difference between permit date and completion date (i.e., the duration of the project).