cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Warehousing & Analytics
Engage in discussions on data warehousing, analytics, and BI solutions within the Databricks Community. Share insights, tips, and best practices for leveraging data for informed decision-making.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Silver layer when tracking SCD2

AWRIGHT
New Contributor III

Hi

I’m new to data modelling so could use some help.

I’m building a personal project using a fairly standard 3NF sales database as the source data.

So far I have a pipeline that incrementally extracts data from the source system each day into a Raw storage layer, using a watermarking technique. The format here is:

raw/<table name>/<current date>/export.csv

My end goal is a Star Schema (I’ve already designed this).

I’d like the next part of my pipeline to load into Silver (cleaning up column names etc), and then load into my dimensions & facts within gold layer.

However, struggling with the logic of it, and what my silver layer should look like. I’m just conscious that in my gold layer I need to retain history with SCD2. 

I believe some people just upsert to Silver (update existing rows and append new rows). Then truncate/load into Gold Layer, but I think this would make it impossible to track SCD2.

Im getting a bit muddled with all of this so would appreciate some help. 

5 REPLIES 5

koushiknpvs
New Contributor III

This is what my medallion architecture looks like - 

1) Bronze Layer - append raw data.

2) Silver Layer, reflect current(active) data and I do business logic transformations. The Silver layer should serve as your cleaned and transformed staging area. Here, data from the raw layer is sanitized, column names are standardized, and other transformations needed to prepare the data for analytical processing are applied. This layer often doesn't maintain historical changes—it’s more about reflecting the current, cleaned state of incoming data.