Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Data Engineering
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Writing DataFrame to PostgreSQL via JDBC extremely slow (Spark 1.6.1)

longcao
New Contributor III

Hi there,

I'm just getting started with Spark and I've got a moderately sized DataFrame created from collating CSVs in S3 (88 columns, 860k rows) that seems to be taking an unreasonable amount of time to insert (using SaveMode.Append) into Postgres. In a naive implementation, inserting this DataFrame took on the order of 5 hours to complete with the following environment:

• Source data is a set of 5 CSV files stored in S3 totalling ~250MB of raw data.
  • 3 node (1 driver, 2 worker) Spark 1.6.1, Hadoop 2 cluster running on Databricks Starter (running on AWS Account/VPC A)
  • Target Postgres RDS instance is a 500GB db.m4.2xlarge instance (running on AWS Account/VPC B)
  •  
    • Simple schema with no keys.
  • As noted, the RDS instance and Databricks Spark clusters are running on separate accounts and VPCs but are VPC peered and are able to reach each other.

Code:

import org.myorg.model.MyType

import org.apache.spark.sql.DataFrame import org.apache.spark.sql.functions._

import scala.util.{ Success, Try }

val s3Path = s"s3a://path/to/files/*.csv"

// Read set of CSVs to single unified DataFrame val csvFrame: DataFrame = sqlContext.read.format("com.databricks.spark.csv") .option("header", "true") .load(s3Path)

// Process/clean up data in DataFrame to an RDD[MyType] with some row processing logic val processFn: Row => Try[MyType] = MyType.fromRow _ val tempRdd: RDD[MyType] = csvFrame.map(processFn) .collect { case Success(row) => row }

// Splice frame with filler metadata columns val df = sqlContext.createDataFrame(tempRdd) .withColumn("hash", lit("my_hash")) .withColumn("created_at", current_timestamp)