cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Administration & Architecture
Explore discussions on Databricks administration, deployment strategies, and architectural best practices. Connect with administrators and architects to optimize your Databricks environment for performance, scalability, and security.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Service Principal can be deleted but permissions not managed

Mumrel
Contributor

On Azure I added a service principal X to my databricks workspace. I therefore had the Service Prinicpal Manager role on that service principal X. I accidentally downgraded my rights to Service Principal User and now can's get my Managers role back. I am an workspace admin and can delete the service principal entry X. If I add the just deleted service principal X again, I will only receive the Service Principal User role, not the Manager role.

If I create any new service prinicpal Y with a syntactically valid app-id I will receive the Service Principal Manager role for Y. 

This seems inconsistent, since I can delete it but not manage it. How can I reclaim my Service Managers role back?

Mumrel_0-1708705677371.png

 

3 REPLIES 3

jamessmith3
New Contributor III

Do you have federated identity enabled on your workspace?

Mumrel
Contributor

I believe so because the described effect was also observed in another databricks workspace, where I did NOT make the accidental change

Also note, I am only a workspace admin, and do not have access to the account console

Join 100K+ Data Experts: Register Now & Grow with Us!

Excited to expand your horizons with us? Click here to Register and begin your journey to success!

Already a member? Login and join your local regional user group! If there isn’t one near you, fill out this form and we’ll create one for you to join!