cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Redefine ETL strategy with pypskar approach

databird
New Contributor II
Hey everyone!
I've some previous experience with Data Engineering, but totally new in Databricks and Delta Tables.
Starting this thread hoping to ask some questions and asking for help on how to design a process.
So I have essentially 2 delta tables (same structure):
1) customer_stg (id int, segment string, name string, status string), partitioned by segment, located in my delta lake in /DATA/STG/CUSTOMER
2) customer_prep (id int, segment string, name string, status string), partitioned by segment, located in my delta lake in /DATA/PREP/CUSTOMER
segment can take values like TL, TI, TO, PA

So I have 4 ETL processes that load data into the same staging, and I have to deal with this scenario, and so that's why I have both tables partitioned by "segment" (also for selecting data on a different scenario).
Also: they are running in sequence, but in future they might run in parallel - and this is important as you'll see.

So, what I have so far:

1) Extract info for TL segment and save in DeltaLake
2) Read this info into a dataframe (tl_sgmnt_df) that has just 4 columns: ID, SEGMENT, NAME, STATUS (essentially same structure as staging/prepared tables)
tl_sgmnt_df = orig_sgmnt_tl_data_df\
                    .withColumn("ID", F.col("orig_sgmnt_tl_data_df.ID") )\
                    .withColumn("SEGMENT", F.col("orig_sgmnt_tl_data_df.SEGMENT") )\
                    .withColumn("NAME", F.col("orig_sgmnt_tl_data_df.NAME")\
                    .withColumn("STATUS", F.col("N"))

3) Load Staging and Prepared delta tables into a dataframe each (customer_stg_delta_df, customer_prep_delta_df)
customer_stg_delta_df = spark.read.format("delta").load(dl_url + "/DATA/STG/CUSTOMER")
customer_prep_delta_df = spark.read.format("delta").load(dl_url + "/DATA/PREP/CUSTOMER")