Data Engineering
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

docs.databricks.com

Anuragranjeet
New Contributor II

I want to generate a personal access token on a service principal. I generated a service principal in Azure active directory and using Azure devops pipeline, I got it added to databricks workspace- where I am a work space administrator. After adding it, I went to Admin settings-->workspace settings--> personal access token--> permission settings and assigned the SP 'can use' access on token usage. Post that, I tried to generate a PAT on the SP using postman tool accordingly to the below guidance-

https://docs.databricks.com/dev-tools/service-principals.html (Step 2)

I used my own PAT for letting service principal authorize with databricks API.

I am still getting this error in trying to generate PAT from postman-

{

"error_code": "FEATURE_DISABLED",

"message": "On-behalf-of token creation for service principals is not enabled for this workspace"

}

The text in bold should have avoided this error but no idea why I am still getting it. Kindly help.

5 REPLIES 5

karthik_p
Esteemed Contributor

@Anurag Ranjeet​ you need to create separate group for users who needs service principle user access from token if users are not a part of group that you have already created

Hi @karthik p​ , thanks for you rreply, aftre reading your comment 3-4 time, I am not sure if I understand - Let's say Power BI is going to use the PAT generated from service principal. Is that 'consumer user' level you are saying? Thing is - PAt generation from SP is one step before that and not happening.

karthik_p
Esteemed Contributor

@Anurag Ranjeet​ below article will provide you clear insight, to be clear it looks user who ever is consumer in BI does not have token usage permission. you need to initially add them in databricks token usage permissions as (can use)--> this user will get inherited with service principle.