cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

One-time backfill for DLT streaming table before apply_changes

Anske
New Contributor III

Hi,

absolute Databricks noob here, but I'm trying to set up a DLT pipeline that processes cdc records from an external sql server instance to create a mirrored table in my databricks delta lakehouse. 

For this, I need to do some initial one-time backfill of my final target table that changes are merged into, as cdc was only turned on in the source recently, that I'm removing from the notebook after the initial run. 

However, when I start the pipeline, the first run fails with the message: "Target 'cdctest' had both an APPLY CHANGES flow 'cdctest' and a non-APPLY CHANGES flow 'snapshot_inifill'. APPLY CHANGES targets may only have APPLY CHANGES flows."

Does anyone know or can anyone point me to some documentation that shows how to initially fill the target of the apply changes table? Or should I hack the existing records into the source as inserts somehow (append them to the source with a small sequence_by value, so they are inserted first off, and remove this code after initial run)?

p.s. in the notebook, it looks like this (in the notebook, preceding below code there is some initial creation of dlt tables in order to create the source table for the apply_changes operation:  cdctest_cdc_enriched):

dlt.create_streaming_table(
    name="cdctest",
    comment="the table that mirrors the dbo.cdctest table in the application database. CDC records obtained from the source are merged into this table to keep it in synch.",
)
@dlt.append_flow(target="cdctest")
def snapshot_inifill():
    return spark.readStream.table("hive_metastore.default.cdctest_hist")

dlt.apply_changes(
    target = "cdctest",
    source = "cdctest_cdc_enriched",
    keys = ["ID"],
    sequence_by = col("tran_begin_time"),
    apply_as_deletes = expr("operation = 1"),
    except_column_list = ["operation","tran_begin_time"],