cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Generative AI
Explore discussions on generative artificial intelligence techniques and applications within the Databricks Community. Share ideas, challenges, and breakthroughs in this cutting-edge field.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is enabling Unity catalog Mandatory to run the LLM Chatbot With RAG, DBRX demo?

Abhishek_blue
New Contributor

Hi! I am new to databricks. I was trying to run the RAG demo notebooks in databricks (@ Link to the demo: Deploy Your LLM Chatbot With Retrieval Augmented Generation (RAG), Foundation Models and Vector Sear...), in which the 00-init notebook in the resources folder did not run. The error: unity catalog not enabled.

[UC_NOT_ENABLED] Unity Catalog is not enabled on this cluster. SQLSTATE: 56038
File <command-164724802993156>, line 13 11 catalogs = [r['catalog'] for r in spark.sql("SHOW CATALOGS").collect()] 12 if catalog not in catalogs: ---> 13 spark.sql(f"CREATE CATALOG IF NOT EXISTS {catalog}") 14 if catalog == 'dbdemos': 15 spark.sql(f"ALTER CATALOG {catalog} OWNER TO `account users`")

Is enabling unity catalog mandatory? If not, how do I proceed?

Thank you in advance 🙂
1 REPLY 1

Kaniz_Fatma
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi @Abhishek_blue, The error message you encountered, “[UC_NOT_ENABLED] Unity Catalog is not enabled on this cluster,” indicates that the Unity Catalog feature is not enabled for your Databricks cluster.

Let’s address your questions:

1. Is enabling Unity Catalog mandatory?

• The Unity Catalog is a powerful feature in Databricks that provides a unified metadata catalog for managing tables, views, and other data assets. It allows you to organize and query your data more efficiently.
    • However, enabling Unity Catalog is not mandatory. You can still work with Databricks without it, but you won’t have access to the additional features it provides.
  2. How do you proceed?