cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cluster Monitoring

kunaldeb
New Contributor III

Hi Databricks Community,

I have some real-life use-case that I like to achieve as soon possible and that is the reason, I am reaching to you for implementation guidelines/Ideas/Documentations/Best Practices.

Assume I am an IT manager and in my production Databricks environment I have many multi-purpose clusters as well as job clusters. As a Databricks production environment manager I like to monitor its usage, status, errors from a dashboard and email notification with as easy as possible way. Dashboard that is filled with all Key information for utilization status, quick fault finding and cost reduction, etc.

I hope I am not asking anything unpractical. Please give your inputs if possible.

Major points that I like to cover:

1> Is my Databricks clusters are under-utilized or over utilized?

2> If my Databricks clusters are over utilized, which process or what set of queries or what particular user or what time frame resource consumption is high?

2.a> Any particular set of queries creating any issue?

3> Assume If one of my clusters has ‘1’ as min node and ‘20’ as max node, then how much time node utilization is staying above 70% (or any other %) or utilization trend-lines?

4> Notification like cluster restart or terminated or one particular job failed consecutive x-number of times, etc.

5> Any such thing that should be monitored or controlled with immediate effect.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

karthik_p
Esteemed Contributor

@kunal debnath​ most of things you can monitor in cluster metric tab, go to any of your cluster and you can see in cluster metric tab (DBR 13.0), for DBR <13.0 it will be Ganglia UI.

you can configure 3rd party monitoring tools like DataDog also

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

karthik_p
Esteemed Contributor