cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Azure - Databricks - account storage gen 2

db_noob
New Contributor II

Hello Every one,

i am really new to databricks, just passed my apache developer certification on it.

i also have a certification on data engineering with Azure.

some fancy words here but i only started doing real deep work on them as i started a personnal project i'm really excited about.

My issue comes with the accessing the account storage through databricks with the help of Managed identity.

meaning :

1/ created access connector to databricks

• created it's identity and gave it delegator role on account storage + contributor on container.

2/ created a metastore, linked it to databrick access connector, linked it to my db workspace.

3/ created credentials and external location .

4 / I could Query the container with 2 different methods but not the last one.

So long i tried two ways that are working just fine

1 /

%sql
create table  raw.table;
COPY INTO raw.table
FROM 'abfss://container@accstore.dfs.core.windows.net/'
FILEFORMAT = CSV
COPY_OPTIONS ('mergeSchema' = 'true')

2 / works perfectly

%python

df = spark.read.schema(schema).csv("abfss://raw@twitterdatalake.dfs.core.windows.net/", header=True, escape='"',quote='"' , multiLine=True  ) #inferSchema=True

3 / doesn't work .

%sql
drop table if exists raw.table;
CREATE external TABLE raw.table USING CSV OPTIONS (path "abfss://raw@accstore.dfs.core.windows.net/", header 'true',
  inferSchema 'true') ;
FileReadException: Error while reading file abfss:REDACTED_LOCAL_PART@accsstore.dfs.core.windows.net/file.csv.
Caused by: KeyProviderException: Failure to initialize configuration for storage account twitterdatalake.dfs.core.windows.net: Invalid configuration value detected for fs.azure.account.key
Caused by: InvalidConfigurationValueException: Invalid configuration value detected for fs.azure.account.key

yes i know you will ask me why do you need this particular way ?