Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Data Engineering
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Auto termination for clusters, jobs, and delta live tables does not terminate clusters on GCP.

New Contributor III

Hello,

I am new to Databricks, and I have been trying to understand how auto termination works, but I am unsure if it is a problem based on my configuration or something else. The problem is the same in all cases, the cluster on GCP created by Databricks does not auto-terminate, but on the Databricks side, it looks different in each case.

1. In the case of clusters created through the compute interface, I have a single-node cluster (tried multi-node too) that is set to terminate after 2 hours. I spin it up and attach some notebook or a job to it. I wait for the job to finish and after that, I let it idle for more than 2 hours. Although the cluster on Databricks shows that it is terminated, when I go to GCP I still have a rogue cluster running that was created by Databricks. I have no pools, policy, or anything configured and Databricks does not show anything running in All-purpose compute or job compute.

2. In the case of Jobs the behavior is the same as above if I set the cluster to run on my running All-Purpose cluster.

3. In the case of delta tables, a Job compute is automatically created, and after the delta tables operation finishes, I let it idle for more than 2 hours (Development environment) and the Job cluster is still running. In this case, I can see it running on Databricks and GCP as well. I tried setting pipelines.clusterShutdown.delay too, but it has no effect.

In both cases, the cluster is running until I delete it manually from GCP. How can I ensure that my cluster gets shut down on GCP properly so I don't get charged?

Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

LandanG
Honored Contributor
Honored Contributor

Hi @Tilemachos Charalampous​ ,