cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 
Data Engineering
Join discussions on data engineering best practices, architectures, and optimization strategies within the Databricks Community. Exchange insights and solutions with fellow data engineers.
cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Azure Databricks Unity Catalog - cannot access managed volume in notebook

AlbertWang
New Contributor III

We have set up Azure Databricks with Unity Catalog (Metastore).

• Used Managed Identity (Databricks Access Connector) for connection from workspace(s) to ADLS Gen2
  • ADLS Gen2 storage account has Storage Blob Data Contributor and Storage Queue Data Contributor at the storage account level granted to the Databricks Access Connector
  • Used Storage Credentials and External Location
  • I am a Databricks account admin and the metastore admin
  • Created catalog and mapped to a External Location (ASDL Gen2 container)
  • Created schema and mapped to a External Location (ASDL Gen2 container)
  • Created a volume
  • I can uploaded files to the volume on Databricks Portal
  • I can browse the files in the volume on Databricks Portal
  • Everything (workspaces, ADLS Gen2, etc) is in the same Azure region

When I run `

dbutils.fs.ls("/Volumes/catalog1/schema1/volume1")`, I got error "Operation failed: "This request is not authorized to perform this operation.", 403, GET".

Any help will be appreciated!
4 REPLIES 4

AlbertWang
New Contributor III

I would like to provide more details about our architecture. I did the below steps.

• I am the Azure Databricks 
  • Created a Azure Databricks Workspace (Premium Tier)
  • Created a Databricks Metastore, named metastore1
  • Created a Azure ADSL Gen2 (storage account with Hierarchical namespace enabled), named adslgen2a
  • Created a Azure Access Connector for Azure Databricks as a Azure Managed Identity, named ac_for_dbr