cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Better Worker Node Core Utilisation

DennisB
New Contributor III

Hi everyone,

Hoping someone can help me with this problem. I have an embarrassingly parallel workload, which I'm parallelising over 4 worker nodes (of type Standard_F4, so 4 cores each). Each workload is single-threaded, so I believe that only one core is actually being utilised for each task. I'd like to ideally run 2+ tasks on each worker.

I've tried increasing the number of executors (having more than one per worker) by means of the following, but it doesn't seem to work.

spark.executor.cores 1
spark.executor.memory 2g
spark.executor.instances 16 // this is 4 workers * 4 cores = 16 executors

I've also tried dynamic allocation of executors, per the answer to this Stack Overflow thread, but that's also not working: java - How to set amount of Spark executors? - Stack Overflow.

Any help would be much appreciated. I can furnish more details if required.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

DennisB
New Contributor III

So I managed to get the 1-core-per-executor working successfully. The bit that wasn't working was spark.executor.memory -- this was too high, but lowering it so that the sum of the executors memory was ~90% of the worker node's memory allowed it to work properly.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

Tharun-Kumar
Honored Contributor II
Honored Contributor II

Hi @DennisB 

Are you using threadpool to run workloads in parallel?

Also, I would suggest removing the three configs, you had mentioned. Now, if you create a 16 pool thread, then you would be seeing 16 runs happening on the executors front (16 cores being utilized).

DennisB
New Contributor III