cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 
Data Engineering
Join discussions on data engineering best practices, architectures, and optimization strategies within the Databricks Community. Exchange insights and solutions with fellow data engineers.
cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Read each cell contains SQL from one notebook and execute it on another notebook and export result

ToReSa
New Contributor II

Hi, 

I'm new to databricks, so, excuse me if the question is silly one. I have a requirement to read cell by cell from one notebook (say notebookA) and execute the contents of the cell in another notebook (say notebookB) using a python script. All the cells in notebookA has sqls. So, I need to execute the SQL one by one and export the sql result into a .csv file.

I am good with executing the sql and exporting results into .csv file, but I am looking for some guidance on how to read each cell of notebookA in notebookB using python script. Appreciate any help on this regard.

Thank you!

5 REPLIES 5

menotron
Valued Contributor

Not sure what are you trying to achieve by this approach. But you could read a SQL

Databricks notebook source and get the queries in each cell using this script.

from databricks_api import DatabricksAPI
import base64
import re

notebook_context = dbutils.notebook.entry_point.getDbutils().notebook().getContext()
databricks_api_instance = DatabricksAPI(
    host=notebook_context.apiUrl().getOrElse(None),
    token=notebook_context.apiToken().getOrElse(None),
)

response = databricks_api_instance.workspace.export_workspace(
    f"<PATH OF NOTEBOOK A IN WORKSPACE>",
    format="SOURCE",
    direct_download=None,
    headers=None,
)

notebook_content = base64.b64decode(response["content"]).decode("utf-8")

exclude = [".*Databricks notebook source", ".*MAGIC.*"]
regex = re.compile("|".join(exclude))
queries = list(