Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Machine Learning
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying out Dolly - how to load pytorch_model.bin so it's not downloading it every time the cluster is restarted

HT
New Contributor II

Hi, I am new to LLM and am curious to try it out. I did the following code to test from the databricks website:

import torch
from transformers import pipeline
instruct_pipeline = pipeline(model="databricks/dolly-v2-12b", torch_dtype=torch.bfloat16, trust_remote_code=True, device_map="auto")

and it seems to be downding a 24gig model file every time the cluster is restarted.

Downloading (…)"pytorch_model.bin";: 100% - 23.8G/23.8G [02:39<00:00, 128MB/s]

is there a way (and where can i find the instructions) to load the pytorch_model.bin file "locally" so it's not downloading it every time the cluster is restarted?

Add-on question, what's a decent cluster config to test things out? so far I've been trying to test it with g4dn.2xlarge (32gig, 1 gpu) with 12.2 lts ml (gpu) and it's telling me a CUDA out of memory error.

OutOfMemoryError: CUDA out of memory. Tried to allocate 492.00 MiB (GPU 0; 14.76 GiB total capacity; 13.52 GiB already allocated; 483.75 MiB free; 13.53 GiB reserved in total by PyTorch) If reserved memory is >> allocated memory try setting max_split_size_mb to avoid fragmentation.  See documentation for Memory Management and PYTORCH_CUDA_ALLOC_CONF

5 REPLIES 5

Anonymous
Not applicable

@H T​ : I wont have a specific answer for Dolly right now, but i shall give a framework to think about it for you to test and try.

To avoid downloading the model every time the cluster is restarted, you can upload the pytorch_model.bin file to your Databricks workspace or to a cloud storage account and then load it from there instead of using the default model location. You can do this by specifying the model

argument as the path to the uploaded model file: