cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Community Discussions
Connect with fellow community members to discuss general topics related to the Databricks platform, industry trends, and best practices. Share experiences, ask questions, and foster collaboration within the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DLT to push data instead of a pull

_databreaks
New Contributor II

I am relatively new to Databricks, and from my recent experience it appears that every step in a DLT Pipeline, we define each LIVE TABLES (be it streaming or not) to pull data upstream.

I have yet to see an implementation where data from upstream would push its data downstream, say, I could create a bronze table and configure in its definition the silver tables it can push its data into.

This would be especially useful, I think, when ingesting data from Kafka where different topics contain differing  payload(message) schema and would like to segregate these messages by topic, that is, to put each topic to its own table.

1 REPLY 1

Kaniz_Fatma
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi @_databreaks, You’re absolutely right!

While the typical approach in Databricks involves pulling data from upstream sources into downstream tables, there are scenarios where a push-based architecture could be beneficial. 

1. Pull-Based Architecture (Typical Approach):

• In a pull-based architecture, downstream tables (e.g., silver or gold tables) actively query and pull data from upstream tables (e.g., bronze tables).
    • This approach is common because it allows for flexibility in processing, transformations, and filtering at the downstream stage.
    • It works well when you need to apply complex business logic or aggregations on the data before storing it in downstream tables.
  2. Push-Based Architecture (Alternative Approach):